

Vytautas Landsbergis in 1955, Landsbergis graduated from the Lithuanian Conservatory of Music (now Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre), to become a full professor there in 1978. From 1978 to 1990, he was a professor at both the Lithuanian Conservatory and the Vilnius Pedagogical University. Landsbergis has authored twenty books on a variety of topics, including a biography of Mikalojus Konstantinas Ciurlionis, as well as works on politics and

music. In 1994, he wrote a thesis for his doctor habilitus degree.

In 1988 he/she joined the nationalist movement of reform Lithuanian (Sajudis) and in November of the same year he/she was elected President of its Board. Between 1989 and 1990 he/she was a member also of the Congress of popular deputies of the USSR. On March 11, 1990 the Supreme Council, elected by universal suffrage on 24 February and between the 4 days 10 March - former (which the Sajudis, not be constituted as party, did not go it, but yes it supported certain candidates, including some Communists), chose to Landsbergis as President of the Chamber, what amounted to the Presidency of the Republic. On 11 March 1990, he headed the Parliamentary session during which the restoration of Lithuanian independence from the Soviet Union was declared. Lithuania became the first Soviet Republic to do so. According to the temporary Constitution of Lithuania, Landsbergis had constitutional authority over both the Leader of the State and the Speaker of the Parliament. He held this post from March 1990 until the next elections in November 1992.

National honours: Former Grand Master Grand Cross with Collar of the Order of Vytautas the Great; Former Grand Master Grand Cross of the Order of the Cross of Vytis; Former Grand Master Grand Cross of the Order of Grand Duke Gediminas.

Landsbergis is in possession of many awards that guarantee international recognition to its role in the Lithuanian Independence: is doctor honoris causa by University of Loyola (Chicago, 1991), Kaunas (1992), and Weber (USA) UU., 1992), among others, and you were granted the award of the peace of the village Norwegian – destined to the Landsbergis Foundation for helping disabled children and young musicians, the prize fund for the future of France (1991), the Hermann-Ehlers Prize (1992) and the Ramon Llull Prize (1994).